Canavieiras

  •  Pacote Carnaval 2015: 4 dias, casal a partir de R$ 600 
  • Apto,Pousada,Canavieiras,Bahia
  • 14 km gorgeous sandy beach fringed with coconut palms
  • An authentic Bahian town – as if time stood still
  • Sitio Histórico: Historic Old Town on cocoa port – unique in Brazil
  • Idyllic, quiet and really comfortable – a rarity in the Americas!
  • Gigantic water world: islands, lagoons, rivers and mangrove forests
  • Atlantic Forest: luxuriant vegetation and more biodiversity than the Amazon
  • Cocoa and coconut plantations, magnificent flora and fauna: evergreen, green, green.
  • Great for short or long vacations -  no tourist hustle and hoax
  • Year-round individual ecotourism, at reasonable prices
  • Average annual temperature: 24.5 ° – Always Summer, moderate humidity
  • Temperatures: 35 ° maximum and minimum of 16 º, truly the perfect climate!

Canavieiras was once one of the main cocoa ports in the world and had its heyday in the 30s, when the cocoa barons (a.k.a. Coronel) swam in money. There was plenty of life in the harbor, they even had seaplanes, drank champagne and let bring pretty chorus girls from Paris and Prague. A curious insight into the time you get out of the books of the famous writer Jorge Armado, who lived in Ilheus and more often lingered in Canavieiras. “Gabriela, Cravo e Canela” (Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon) is e.g. one of his most striking works. Only at the beginning of the century the city was built – with super wide streets – but  the houses showed an influence of colonial style, which was typical for the 16th Century – that’s very unique in Canavieiras. The motto at those times of money, champagne and girls was: the richer and more powerful, the more ornaments and decorations you must have.

​Eventually, due to a plague or sabotage, it was the end of cocoa, the easygoing ranchers slipped into bankruptcy and its imposing patriarcal houses and warehouses were abandoned, and so it began the decay of the cocoa port. In 1998, the port district of Canavieiras declared it to be “Sitio Histórico” (Historic Center) and started with the restoration of the picturesque houses. Also worth seeing is the building of Prefeitura (municipality / town hall) Casarao do Centro, the churches and the library.

​Also some German, Swiss and Brazilians from the big cities have invested, bought ruins, warehouses and houses and renovated and made them lovely – and so Canavieiras was again brought to life. After that people started to open restaurants, pubs, boutiques and a nice little “shopping center” in colonial style. Meanwhile there are also isolated Americans, Dutch, Italians, and Spaniards, who have invested to so they could make long-term vacations or live here all year round. It is like a village, almost everyone knows each other and the harbor is no room for bad guys, you can walk around at night unmolested. A rarity in Brazil. The city council of Canavieiras respects and encourage its citizens to keep the town clean and tidy. Here the biggest channel in Brazil “Rede Globo” filmed its Telenovela “Porto dos Milagres – Port of Miracles”, with that the town acquired some notoriety, but this was never used commercially. No wonder, the town is so quiet it seems time stood still!

In 1998, a few sport fishermen came from the USA, and a Big Game Fishing base has been established in Canavieiras, at which the deep-sea anglers from around the world like to come and kick the Blue Marlin. There are now two. And all this with perfect organization, a great team, the best equipment, safety and comfort. For a few years now, the Marlins are tagged and released to gain a better understanding of their directions and living conditions, even if the same Marlin bites the bait a second time. Canavieiras is located about 70km before the Royal Charlotte Bank, one of the richest fishing waters around South America. Here the ocean floor drops down from 25m to 2000m. From these trips out to see we sometimes get our Tuna or Dorado sashimi.

BahiaTropical - Canavieiras - Bahia - Brasil +55 73 999 200 640 mail: pitt@bahiatropical.com

Canavieiras

    • 14 km traumhafter Sandstrand mit Kokos-Palmen umsäumt

Beach Canavieiras,Bahia,Brasil

    • Eine authentische bahianische Kleinstadt – als wäre die Zeit stehengeblieben
    • Sitio Histórico: Historische Altstadt am Kakaohafen – einzigartig in ganz Brasilien.
    • Idyllisch, beschaulich und echt gemütlich – eine Seltenheit in ganz Amerika!
    • Gigantische Wasserwelt: Inseln, Lagunen, Flüsse und Mangrovenwälder

lagune,canavieiras,bahia

  • Atlantischer Regenwald: üppigste Vegetation und mehr Artenvielfalt als am Amazonas
  • nuh
  • Kakao- und Kokosplantagen, grandiose Flora und Fauna:  immer grün, grün, grün.
  • Geheimtipp für Urlaub und Überwintern – ohne Touristen-Rummel und Nepp
  • Ganzjähriger individueller Oeko-Turismus, zu zivilen Preisen
  • Mittlere Jahrestemperatur: 24,5º – Immer Sommer, moderate Luftfeuchtigkeit
  • Temperaturen: maximum 35º und minimum 16º , wahrlich das perfekte Klima!

Canavieiras war einmal einer der wichtigsten Kakaohäfen der Welt und hatte seine Glanzzeit in den 30er Jahren, als die Kakao-Barone (Coronels genannt) im Geld nur so schwammen. Da war reges Leben im Hafen, man hatte sogar Wasserflugzeuge, trank Champagner und liess hübsche Revuegirls aus Paris und Prag einfliegen. Interessante Einblicke in diese Zeit bekommt man aus den Büchern des berühmten Schriftstellers Jorge Armado, der in Ilheus lebte und auch öfter in Canavieiras verweilte. “Gabriela, Cravo und Canela” ist z.B. eines seiner treffendsten Werke. Erst Anfang des Jahrhunderts baute man die Stadt,mit superbreiten Strassen, Häusern im kolonialem Baustil, etwas einzigartiges an Canavieiras. Die Devise war: Je reicher und mächtiger, desto mehr Ornamente und Verzierungen.

Irgendwann, bedingt durch eine Plage bzw. Sabotage,  war dann Ende mit Kakao, die leichtlebigen Fazendeiros rutschten in die Pleite und ihre imposanten Patrizierhaeuser  wurden aufgegeben und die Lagerhallen und Kontore am Kakao-Hafen begannen zu verfallen. Im Jahre 1998  wurde das Hafenviertel von Canavieiras zum Sitio Histórico (Historisches Zentrum) erklärt und man begann mit der Restaurierung der malerischen Häuser. Sehenswert auch das Gebäude der Prefeitura (Stadtverwaltung /Rathaus) Casarao do Centro, die Kirchen und die Bibliothek.​

Auch ein paar Deutsche, Schweizer und Brasilianer aus den Grossstädten haben investiert, Ruinen, Lagerhallen und Häuser gekauft und diese liebevoll hergerichtet und renoviert und so kam wieder Leben nach Canavieiras. Es entstanden Restaurants, Kneipen, Boutiquen und ein nettes kleines “Shoppingcenter” im Kolonialstil. Mittlerweile gibts es auch vereinzelte Amerikaner, Holländer, Italiener, Spanier, die hier investert haben um zu überwintern oder das ganze Jahr hier zu leben. Es ist wie auf dem Dorf, fast jeder kennt jeden und am Hafen ist kein Platz für Bösewichter, man kann auch nachts unbelästigt herumlaufen. Eine echte Seltenheit in Brasilien. Die Stadtverwaltung von Canavieiras achtet erfreulicherweise auf Ordnung und Sauberkeit. Hier wurde die brasilianische Seifenoper (telenovela)  “Porto dos Milagres – Hafen der Wunder”  gedreht, sodass der Ort auch im restlichen Brasilien eine gewisse Berühmtheit erlangte.  Was aber nie kommerziell genutzt wurde. Kein Wunder, in einem so beschaulichen Ort, in dem die Zeit stehengeblieben zu sein scheint.

Im Jahre 1998 kamen ein paar Sportfischer aus den USA, in Canavieiras wurde eine Big Game Fishing Basis eingerichtet, die Hochsee-Anglern aus aller Welt den Kick des Blue Marlin-Angelns bietet. Mittlerweile gibt es deren zwei. Und das alles mit perfekter Organisation, einem Super-Team, bestem Gerät, Sicherheit und Komfort. Seit ein paar Jahren werden die Marlins markiert und wieder freigelassen – tag and release -  um mehr Erkenntnisse über ihre “Reiserouten” und Lebensbedingungen zu gewinnen, falls mal einer ein 2. Mal an die Angel geht. Etwa 70km vor Canavieiras liegt die Royal Charlotte Bank, eines der fischreichsten Gewässer Südamerikas. Hier fällt der Meeresgrund von 25m runter auf 2000m  -  und dort tummeln sich die dicksten Brocken. Da bekommen wir dann öfter unseren ganz frischen Sashimi-Thunfisch oder Dorado.

BahiaTropical - Canavieiras - Bahia - Brasil +55 73 999 200 640 mail: pitt@bahiatropical.com